Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I think we definitely scored this week. The only downer is the reappearance of kohlrabi. But I believe I’ve come up with a suitable way to hide it.

Forgive the indoor photo; it was raining and I was messing around with the DSLR (and may need a few lessons). We’ve got: kohlrabi, broccoli, carrots, bell peppers, kale, apples, eggplant, butternut squash, sweet potatoes.

When I started planning this week’s meals, I found I was able to pack in a lot of the items together in the first few days of recipes, which left me with a sparse end of week. We’ve got leftovers and freezer staples to fall back on though. This week also ended up being very light on the meat, which we’re more than okay with. The world would be better off if we all ate more vegetarian meals.

Sunday:

Monday:

  • Yoyo
    Monday night class means another yoyo night.

Tuesday:

  • Broccoli cheese soup (with carrots and kohlrabi) and fresh bread
    I’ve made this soup recipe before; it’s delish and easy. I’m going to give it a boost by incorporating the kohlrabi and greens, and include the broccoli greens too. I bought some bakery bread at the farmers’ market today, so that will round out dinner.

Wednesday:

Thursday:

  • Chinese sauteed potato, green pepper, and eggplant
    I googled eggplant and green pepper recipes and this popped up (and lucky us, we’ve got leftover potatoes from last week). The Mister will probably like this meal more than me, since I’m not a huge fan of green pepper. We’ll likely serve it over rice.

Friday:

  • Yoyo
    I think we’re going to have a decent amount of leftovers come Friday.

Saturday:

  • Maple cinnamon pancakes with warm apple compote
    We do love pancakes around here. The apples we got are sweet and crisp, and will make a great topping (which means we probably won’t need all the sugar/syrup in the recipe either).
  • Buffalo chicken nuggets and sweet potato fries
    We do like our buffalo chicken around here. And when it comes to sweet potatoes, I say don’t mess with perfection (fries).
