Tags

, , , , ,

I had a revelation today: I should shift my CSA approach. I should make it my mission to make pizza with every produce item I get. It would be a great challenge … and totally awesome. We love some homemade pizza around here. A girl can dream…

Last week we realized we really don’t really like double broccoli quinoaย (too boring). We also ended up giving half of our half cabbage away; it was just sooo much cabbage. This week, our produce seems much more manageable. Some people might think of it as if we got short-changed. But for us, it’s a bit of a relief. I didn’t feel overwhelmed when planning meals. It can be a lot of pressure to use all of this food in a cohesive way, and time it so it doesn’t go to waste. But I swear I’m not complaining. I’m loving all the fresh food.

This week: green and yellow beans, yellow onion, beets, sweet basil, potatoes, zucchini, blueberries, cucumbers.

I also picked up two other goodies for an all-American 4th of July.

Sunday:

  • Broccoli mac and cheese
    We have some broccoli left over from last week that needs to get used up, so that’s mission numero uno. I’ll take this recipe and tweak it (skip the chicken, add a breadcrumb topping). Bonus: it will make leftovers for lunches this week.

Monday:

  • Buffalo chicken tendersย with zucchini fries
    I am a big fan of making “fries” out of any veggies possible. And this recipe has a yummy looking dip to boot! Buffalo chicken is always a good choice.

Tuesday:

  • Sweet corn with beets and basil
    Some of the planned dishes this week are pretty light, which is okay considering we’re expecting temps to hang out in the 90s. This salad calls for baby beets, but I’m going to wing it with what I’ve got. So far, I don’t hate beets (shhh, don’t tell my mom), but I’m not in love yet either.

Wednesday:

  • Potato and green bean salad and corn on the cob
    We don’t have big plans for the Fourth, and come Wednesday, I’ll be missing all my dear friends and family back home. We always have so much fun on this holiday; in fact, the Mister and I met on July 4, 2009. The Mister and I have decided to make a couple token picnic food items, but we’ll probably grab a hot dog or burger, ice cream, etc. when we go out for the town for evening festivities.

Thursday:

  • Margherita pizza and caramelized onion and goat cheese pizza
    Like I said, CSA + pizza = awesome. We’re making two pizzas on Thursday so we can have some leftovers. The basil we got is beautiful, and I can’t wait to use it. I really liked this dough we used a couple weeks ago, so I think I’ll be going back to that one.

Friday:

  • Blueberry pancakes with bacon
    Breakfast for dinner a.k.a. brinner. We have lots of delicious blueberries and some killer bacon from our CSA farm that will make for an easy, low-pressure Friday night dinner.

Saturday:

  • Yoyo
    I leave for a 10-day trip home to Minnesota. The Mister will be picking up the next two weeks worth of CSA goodies. I’ll have to ask him if he’s willing to guest blog!

Extras:

  • Beet green smoothies (with blueberries, bananas, orange juice, flaxseed, raspberries … who knows!)
  • Pickled cucumber salad
