Tags

, , , ,

We’re swimming in produce over here … and I looove it. Being a CSA-er has already changed my perceptions of food so much! I’ve always like my fruits and veggies, but have generally been pretty narrow-minded about them. You get stuck eating the ones you’re most comfortable cooking, are the easiest to access, or are just your faves … often regardless of what’s in season or freshest.

Having all this awesome produce, I don’t want to see any of it go to waste. I so wish we had a bigger space to do things like freeze, can, and compost. I want to save all my scraps to make broth … but I simply don’t have the freezer room. I hate throwing all these nutrient-rich scraps away!

One thing we did do this week was research which of the greens attached to our veggies could actually be eaten. And sure enough, all of them can. So now I’ve got a bag of carrot and beet greens in the fridge just waiting to be turned into green smoothies (or something else, who knows!). The broccoli leaves can also be prepared similar to collard greens, we read. So maybe we’ll try something out with those too.

And now, this week’s haul: broccoli, carrots, beets, cabbage (half – enormous!), kale, blueberries, green beans, onion.

I’m actually really pumped for this week’s menu too.

Sunday:

  • Pasta with pesto
    We have leftover pesto from last week’s pizza. Keeping it simple tonight. Might do something with the kale. Might just save it for lunch tomorrow.
  • Blueberry crisp
    We’re up to our eyeballs in berries right now. More on that in another post.

Monday:

  • Roasted beets and carrots with goat cheese dressing
    We’re going for it with the beets this week. Last week we turned them into muffins, which turned out just fine (meaning I couldn’t even taste them). Everyone I know has told me “roast them,” so that’s what we’re doing.

Tuesday:

  • Double broccoli quinoa
    We made this recipe a while ago. It’s very broccoli-y. But for us, that’s a good thing. Gotta do something with the broccoli head bigger than the Mister’s head. ย 

Wednesday:

  • Yoyo (you’re on your own)
    I’m out of town (state) for work, so the Mister is on his own. This usually means dinner thanks to the nearest pizza joint.

Thursday:

  • Chicken curry with basmati rice and naan
    As I suspected, we did end up skipping this meal last week, which was for the best. I made baked chicken nuggets instead, which turned out great. These, along with sweet potato fries, went swimmingly with the green beans. The Mister actually picked up some veggies to go in the curry this week, so it’s a win-win.

Friday:

  • Runzas with sweet potato fries
    Let’s see … how do I explain this one. The Mister’s dad’s family is from Nebraska, and he has been going there since he was born. One of the family’s favorite stops is a fast food joint only found in a handful of states surrounding Nebraska. Their specialty is a stuffed sandwich of meat and cabbage, with roots tracing back to Eastern Europe. I for one was very hesitant to try this strange fast food phenomenon … but I figure if I make them and know exactly what’s in them, I will probably like them. Thus, I will be replicating these sammies for my honey. And when I told him, he about fell off his chair in excitement. Oh, the things we do for love. I’m going to use this dough recipe instead of the one in the link above (sweetened condensed milk is just weird).

Saturday:

  • TBD
    We may have people over.

Oh, and for more CSA goodness, check out the link party over at In Her Chucks, where me and my CSA buddies meet up weekly to ooh and aahh over each other’s goods.

