Tags

, , , , , ,

Well, this isn’t getting any easier. I’ve really struggled today to come up with a cohesive plan for our produce. I think it may end up being a lot of roasted and sautéed veggies for lunches and dinners. I feel like none of this stuff really goes together.

That being said, I’m still pretty happy with what we’re working with this week. Some new players at the table, including a vegetable I strongly detested (feared) as a child: beets. Every summer, my mother would grow and pickle beets. And my dad, sister, and I went running and screaming the other way. But, as promised, I am going to give them a try … just in very different ways than what I’ve always known.

Here’s what we’ve got (left to right): fennel, red leaf lettuce, green beans, yellow zucchini, curly kale, beets, swiss chard, broccoli.

We also picked up a couple other scrumptious items at this week’s farmers’ market (where we pick up our CSA every week). The bread is local, organic, no preservatives. The bacon is from our CSA farm, so we can feel good about that too! All in all, it made for a delicious late brunch today. I also love that we’re branching out past produce at the market. So many other local goodies to check out.


So here’s what’s on the menu this week. It’s still a bit rough, and I anticipate I may end up using a number of items in quick lunch preparations (a perk of working from home).

Sunday:

  • Cinnamon swirl French toast and bacon
  • Red leaf lettuce salad
    We ended up eating pretty much the same salad tonight as we had last week: lettuce, tomato, onion, croutons, parm, and Italian dressing. Good way to make up for the heavy meal we had earlier and use up a number of items in the fridge.

Monday:

  • Blue-cheese stuffed burgers with kale chips
    The Mister has become the burger master in this house. We don’t have them often, but when we do, this is the best way to do it. Blue cheese burgers are reminiscent of our favorite joint back home, The Blue Door Pub. We had kale chips two weeks ago and were big fans of this preparation. So we’re going back to something that works.

Tuesday:

  • Whole wheat blueberry beet muffins
    On Monday night, I think I’ll whip up some muffins (didn’t end up making banana ones this weekend) as my intro into beet world. I’m hoping it will help us become friends. I think I’ll use the greens for a couple lunch salads this week.
  • Roasted broccoli pizza
    Found this recipe from a fellow CSA-er. Everything about it sounds delicious. The Mister prefers veggie pizza over meat, so this should be a hit.

Wednesday:

  • Yoyo (you’re on your own)
    I’m going to be out on Wednesday, so the Mister will be on his own. And I have a hunch he’ll prepare something like this (he loves sautéed squash and zucchini) with, perhaps, a bowl of cereal on the side.

Thursday:

  • Apple and fennel roasted pork tenderloin with sautéed swiss chard
    This is one of those instances where I have no idea if these flavors will go together. I’ve never prepared swiss chard. We only have a few leaves worth, so it’s just a touch of green on our plates. I think I’ll keep it pretty mild so it doesn’t clash with the sweetness of the pork.

Friday:

  • Chicken curry with naan and green beans
    Another meal I don’t really think goes together that well. But we’re also trying to be reasonable about using food we already have on hand (Trader Joe’s). By Friday, I may totally change my mind on this one.

Saturday:

  • Out
    We’re declaring date night. We’ve got a couple Groupons burning holes in our pockets.
