Tags

, , ,

I am a strong believer in simplification and organization; they are steps to a more enjoyable and fulfilling life. If you get the clutter out of the way, you can focus on what matters. You can spend less time in chaos and more time in comfort and calm. I’ve touched on this briefly as it relates to meal planning and my spice rack organization.

One of the areas I really want to simplify is paperwork and electronic file organization. These are huge problem areas for pretty much everyone. If you have a system that’s easy and streamlined, I presume you’re in the minority.

For me, this mission started with those little pamphlets and papers that coordinate with everything we buy: manuals, warranties, and receipts. You just can’t escape this clutter in the techno-world we live in. I’ve struggled to find how to keep the paperwork close to the item it belongs with or filed in some other way. So last weekend, I decided it was time to face it all head on.

I headed to Target and bought a 3-inch binder and page protectors. I combed the apartment to find everything we had that would fall under the warranty, manual, or instructional realm. I slipped items in page protectors, including any receipts I had for those items, and organized them alphabetically by brand name. For me, that was much easier than trying to categorize my items. And no matter if I’m looking for the slow cooker or the camera, I’ll easily be able to find what I need.

I plan to store this binder in the office and flip through it annually to purge any items we’ve gotten rid of. I’m so thrilled with the simplicity and ease of use. No more searching for paperwork related to our possessions.

