Tags

, , ,

Yeah, yeah, so I’ve been a terrible blogger as of late. So let’s get right to the nitty gritty. I’m hoping to start reviewing one recipe per week in addition to simply posting the meal plans. This week I’ll rehash the pasta sauce (which we had tonight and really enjoyed).

Saturday

  • French toast and bacon
    (French toast is my go-to when I have bread that has been sitting around waaay too long. We keep our bread in the fridge, which of course dries it out faster. But it’s either that or it molds in three days because it’s sans preservatives. I don’t use a recipe for French toast; just whisk up some milk, egg, vanilla, cinnamon, maybe a little yogurt, let your bread go for a quick swim and throw it on the griddle.)
  • Out: Twins vs. Baltimore
    (The Mister and I went with another couple to see our hometown team play opening weekend at the Baltimore Orioles. The Twins didn’t show up for the game, or the series for that matter. We ate atย Camden Pub, and it certainly wasn’t memorable.)

Sunday

  • Banana crumb muffins
    (A modest Easter breakfast, as it was just the two of us. I had some old bananas taking up prime real estate in the freezer. I’d made this recipe last fall when the in-laws were in town. These are really good muffins [and I don’t even like banana flavored stuff]. This is a recipe that I actually don’t doctor, which rarely happens.)
  • Pineapple ham steak with scalloped potatoes and green beans
    (I did make a nice dinner for the holiday. Not too extravagant, but still festive. I loosely followed Tyler Florence’s version of scalloped potatoes. My variations were: 3/4 cup half and half and 3/4 milk instead of heavy cream, melted about 3/4 cup gouda cheese into the sauce, topped with panko bread crumbs. Didn’t love the gouda in this. Next time we’ll try another cheese. Ham steak was simply seared in a skillet and topped with fresh pineapple.)

Monday

  • Spinach and cheese tortellini with red wine pasta sauce
    (The pasta is Bertolli from the grocery store refrigerator section. The red wine sauce came out of the need to polish off a giant bottle of wine we cracked a week ago and hadn’t managed to finish. The sauce turned out really delicious. As it was simmering, I told the Mister I was considering eating it soup-style for dinner.)

Tuesday

  • Vegetarian pho with baked cream cheese wontons
    (Okay, so I’m cheating a bit with the pho. I had a coupon for soup starters at Whole Foods last week, so I picked up the vegetarian pho broth one. I’ve never actually had pho, but we’re game for most ethnic foods around here. I snagged a bunch of add-ins: rice noodles, lime, green onions, cilantro, chili sauce, tofu. The wontons are inspired by leftover egg roll wrappers from last week’s buffalo chicken roll ups. Hopefully those will work with this recipe.)

Wednesday

  • Yoyo

Thursday

  • Chicken pot pies
    (The Mister has promised to cook Thursday as he’s married to his books until then, and this was my pick. I made up my own version of these a few months ago.ย My “recipe” is pretty basic and adaptable. Whip up your cream soup base, with onions sauteed into it, making sure it doesn’t get too soupy. Saute your chicken and your vegetables [carrots, celery, peas, corn, green beans … whatever you fancy]. Stir together all three parts, scoop into individual-sized oven safe dishes, cover with puff pastry, and bake. Perhaps I’ll detail this one out for you later on.)

Friday

  • Vegetable gyoza and edamame
    (This is recycled from last week, as we didn’t actually make it. It’s a simple Trader Joe’s staple that goes from freezer to table in about 12 minutes.)
