Tags

, , , ,

I’ve had a number of friends ask me about my homemade cleaning products. Now these concoctions are nothing new. People have been cleaning with these ingredients since the Middle Ages (okay, I made that up … but for a long time). I thought I would share my favorite household cleaner.

It starts with a scone swimming in lemon glaze. The kind of scone you have to eat with a fork.

Okay, maybe the scone is barely relevant. But it was delicious. Back to cleaning.

Vinegar is a universal cleaning product. It really can clean just about everything. I’ve found it very for wiping kitchen counters, sink, microwave, refrigerator, light switches, coffee maker, etc. It works equally well in the bathroom. And it has about five million more uses. Combine it with some baking soda for a grown up science experiment (or just some fizzy scouring fun).

Vinegar is a mild disinfectant, meaning it won’t necessarily kill all types of bacteria, but it is a pretty strong cleaning agent and will kill some. I’m not uber concerned that our place is crawling with germs since we’re very clean and it’s just the two of us. I do have some stronger cleaners for the shower and toilet, however.

Although I’ve grown to love the stuff, the Mister really hates the smell. So I’ve started steeping lemon peels in a jar of vinegar for a couple weeks before adding it to my spray bottle. I think it helps immensely with the smell. Plus lemon has degreasing benefits and is a natural disinfectant on it’s own.

It’s about as simple as this:

Yup, that’s just an old pasta sauce jar. It hangs out under my sink filled with lemon peels (see: scone) and vinegar. In about two weeks, I’ll fill my spray bottle with half water and half the vinegar concoction, don my rubber gloves, grab a rag, and dance around the apartment spraying my little heart out.

All-purpose vinegar cleaner recipe :

  • 1 part water
  • 1 part lemon-steeped vinegar

Some people will tell you a 4:1 water to vinegar ratio is sufficient. I like it stronger, personally. It’s still uber cheap to make regardless.

