Tags

As a supplement to my last post, I suppose it’s only fair that I share an example of our meal plans.

Saturday

  • Baked oatmeal with strawberry, banana, and chocolate
    (This was delicious. Used 1/4 cup chopped almonds instead of walnuts. Used cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg instead of Chinese five spice. Skipped the orange zest. And hooray for leftovers!)
  • Sweet potato burgers with roasted asparagus
    (These were okay, but maybe not a keeper as is. The recommended spices are a strange combination. Overall, we thought they could work with a bit of doctoring. I added half a beaten egg and halved the recipe.)

Sunday

  • Chicken wild rice casserole with broccoli
    (We’re doing it Minnesota-style this week. Leftover wild rice in the freezer inspired this one. The key is making the cream base from scratch. I’ll be customizing this recipe, I’m sure.)

Monday

  • Spinach artichoke stuffed salmon with roasted red potatoes and asparagus
    (The salmon is pre-stuffed and frozen, but it’s wild caught, which is key with fish. Snagged it last week on sale. Roasting veggies is my absolute favorite way to prepare them. This will kill off the rest of the asparagus from Saturday.)

Tuesday

  • Thai noodles with spicy peanut sauce with edamame
    (This is a recipe I’ve been making for a few years, and it has become a staple for me and the Mister. We use rice noodles and whatever Asian-type veggies we’ve got—usually red pepper, carrot, snow peas, and water chestnuts. Everyone we’ve fed this to loves it.)

Wednesday

  • Yoyo
    (You’re on your own. The Mister is on campus all night, so I’ll wing it.)

Thursday

Friday

  • Bubble up enchiladas with veggie TBD
    (There are about 100 different versions of this recipe online, and I keep seeing it on Pinterest. No, it’s not the most healthy of recipes. However, I bought the most natural refrigerator biscuits I could find: Safeway’s Open Nature brand has no hydrogenated oils. Trader Joe’s carries a version that I’d consider safe too. Also, I’ll cut the amount of ground beef in half.)
