Tags

, ,

I don’t know if this is common elsewhere, but fall is the time we see fruit flies around here. It has happened the last two years, and this year, I was ready to fight back.

Fruit Fly Trap

What you need:

  • Mason jar with metal band (or any jar + rubber band would do)
  • Apple cider vinegar
  • Fruit scraps (apple core or banana peel work well)
  • Wax paper (really parchment, plastic wrap, paper, foil would all probably work)

Poke small holes in the wax paper with a pen (about 6-8 holes will do). You want them just large enough for the flies to get in and no bigger. Add a few tablespoons of cider vinegar to the jar, and throw in an apple core or two (or other fruit scraps). Secure the wax paper with the metal band and place it near where you’re seeing flies or where you store your fruit.

In a few days, you’ll see lots of little bugs trapped in there, not smart enough to get back out. I usually take my jar outside, open it up, and let them out — not so much because I want them to live as I don’t know how else to get rid of them. Rinse it out and do it again if necessary.

