Tags

, , ,

One of my favorite things about having our CSA share is that our weekly grocery shopping trip is quick and inexpensive. In our house, we cook nearly everything from scratch, eat meat/fish only a few times a week, and have a good stock of staples in the cupboard and freezer. Those practices plus weekly produce already paid for means a pretty short weekly list. For instance, today we spent $23, and nearly everything we bought was organic.

When I brought home our CSA haul today, it was the first time I said to the Mister, “I’m not that excited about it.” Maybe I’m in a funk? Maybe I had hoped for something else (although I don’t know what)? But I guess you can’t win them all.

This week’s goods: green bell pepper, tomatoes, eggplant, pattypan squash, corn, okra, orange pepper (not sure what type or how spicy?), red potatoes, cucumber, mushrooms.

The Mister and I are both anti-mushroom. We’ve tried everything we’ve gotten in our CSA thus far with few disappointments. But this one is non-negotiable; we’ll be donating these to a friend. Okra is also a foreign concept to a couple native to Minnesota.

We are pressured to use up this week’s produce on a short calendar. We’re headed to Cocoa Beach, Florida, on Friday for a long weekend in celebration of our first wedding anniversary (August 13)!

Here’s what we’re eating this week.

Sunday:

  • Eggplant parmesan pasta
    We used the eggplant preparation from the pizza we made a couple weeks ago. Instead of pizza, we tossed it with pasta and tomato sauce, and melted copious mozzarella on top.
  • Zucchini banana chocolate chip muffins
    Saved this recipe until tonight. I used white whole wheat flour, reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, and used plain greek yogurt. The flavor is good, but the tops of the muffins sunk in (sadface).

Monday:

  • Lemon-baked cod with okra and corn maque choux
    This okra recipe caught my eye because it uses a lot of the veggies we got this week. I might either sub bacon for the sausage or just omit the meat altogether.

Tuesday:

  • Loaded mashed potatoes
    We have way too many potatoes that have accumulated over the last few weeks of CSA baskets. So we’ll make an untraditional dinner and carbo load (for what? maybe packing? hah).

Wednesday:

  • Rice and beans
    I’m planning to doctor this up with some tomatoes and peppers. We’ll use brown rice and dried black beans instead of canned.

Thursday:

  • Chicken breasts with pattypan squash stuffed with corn
    I’ve never prepared (or eaten) a pattypan squash before. But I do love having fresh corn to incorporate into recipes every week. So I’m looking forward to trying this out. We have leftover barbecue sauce from yesterday’s pizza, so maybe we’ll use that up with the chicken.