Tags

, ,

This week we’ll continue to “feast” on the Trader Joe’s goodies I picked up last week. I’m hoping to start photographing and reviewing some of these recipes I’m trying out. I’ll get there eventually.

Saturday

  • Blueberry scones with lemon glaze
    (There’s a little deli in the Minneapolis skyways called Allie’s, and they sell the most incredible scones on earth. If you’re ever downtown, you should go. These scones are my attempt to bring a little Minne out east. They’re pretty good, but no Allie’s.)
  • Mandarin orange chicken with vegetables and rice
    (The chicken is new purchase from TJ’s frozen selections. Apparently it’s one of their best sellers, so we’ll see how it goes. I’ll toss in some peas pods, carrots, and peppers to get our veggies in.)

Sunday

  • Lemon dill salmon with green beans and cheddar bay biscuits
    (I love lemon and dill with my salmon, so well bake that and heat up some frozen green beans. The cheddar biscuits are of course a Red Lobster knock-off … which the Mister has never had! Most recipes for these on the internet call for Bisquick, but I was able to find one that was completely from scratch.)

Monday

  • Caesar salad with cheddar bay biscuits
    (Really simple dinner here. We love Caesar salad around here. It’s pretty much the only salad we make at home. All the other dressings get neglected in the fridge. Add some leftover biscuits and that’s Monday.)

Tuesday

  • Buffalo chicken rolls with celery and apples
    (I made these for a party we had in February and they were a hit. I omitted the slaw and served with a side of celery sticks. We’ll add some apple slices and and it will be a fun casual dinner.)

Wednesday

  • Yoyo
    (Spring break is over and we’re back to Wednesdays on our own.)

Thursday

  • Vegetable gyoza and edamame
    (This is another TJ’s meal. We really like these frozen gyoza and the coordinating Trader Joe’s sauce. Edamame [boiled soybeans in the shell] is supposedly “Japanese bar food.” Seems a lot healthier than popcorn and french fries.)

Friday

  • Tacos with refried black beans
    (I’ll have Boca tacos, John will have chicken [leftover shredded from Tuesday]. We have the standard American fixings: lettuce, sour cream, salsa, cheddar cheese. I’ve only made beans from dry beans once before, and those were baked beans in a crock pot. This is my second shot at “real” beans.)
